Greetings to the Father, Angels and saints in Christ. I thought that I had finished when the Lord reminded me a minute ago about this topic that He had given to me a few weeks ago.

What on earth is wrong with Boaz? Who does he think that he is, telling Ruth to glean in his field? At least the modern-day woman would say, “I am my own woman, I am not changing my life for any man”. I have heard this with my own two ears. Boaz had told Ruth, “go not to glean in another field, neither go from hence, but abide here fast by my maidens…” (Ruth 2: 8).

Ruth did not know it then:

but Boaz had put a mark of possession on her and put a high price on the cost of her obedience.

She had to pledge to obey and prove her allegiance to Boaz. She did not “run after” the young men who worked with him.

She did not disdain Boaz’s request.

How do I know this? Her obedience really meant something to Boaz, because he rewarded her by marrying her. We learnt this when he told her in Ruth 3:10:

“blessed be thou of the LORD, my daughter: for thou hast shewed more kindness in the latter end than at the beginning, inasmuch as thou followedst not young men, whether poor or rich”.

I am still wondering what he meant in these words. Boaz speaks as if he was an old, undesirable man, but I doubt so. What were the issues that he was considering when he responded to Ruth’s request of marriage?

Whatever the issues were, Boaz teaches us that men should look for faithfulness in a potential mate in the same way that God looks for and rewards faithfulness.

In other words, God rewards those who diligently seek Him in much the same way that Boaz rewarded Ruth for diligently seeking him. She understood his need for fidelity. They seemed to have a connection and tie that is not written into the book, but that is rather inferred in their responses and actions to each other.

It is a perfect love story. Can she be trusted? It is easy for a woman to want (I cannot even say love) a man for what he owns. Only the Holy Spirit can reveal the thoughts and intents of the human heart. Happy is the man who can hear what women are thinking about him.

You will be surprised to hear if you have ears to hear. Some of them say that they want to “dig out” the man. This is Caribbean lingo which means what it says. They will take your money etc and have a ball with it – dig you out without concern for you or yours. These are mean and greedy women. Some of them won’t even bother with you after the marriage. They will just disappear into their world, showing their true colors.

How do I know? Well I have ears to hear, so I listen. It is very easy to pretend. Some women just picture themselves in a role of wife, paying attention to the external things like the ring, the house, the clothes, car etc.

Who says that you need a lot of possessions to begin a marriage? You need each other, a stove, a fridge at least and a bed to sleep on (there are the inflatable beds). See how long she will stay around if you tell her, “honey, this is all I have”.

You may have to say, like Jesus, “lovest me more than these?”

Fidelity is not just an outward show of support.

Jesus had a lot of “show offs” in good times who followed Him for the glamor and fame of His ministry. Yes, Jesus was the most famous man of His day and of all times, gathering multitudes of up to 10,000 people at any one event in most instances. The crowd showed their true colors in the face of persecution and public opinion.

It is very hard for me to explain on this issue of fidelity in a woman because it is a present and future event as well as an issue of spiritual discernment. It is difficult because the heart is deep, deceitful and desperately wicked above all things and who can know it?

I did not even intend to write along these lines, but the Lord has revealed so much to me about the contents of the human heart over these few months that I am even afraid of my own heart. That is why David prayed that God would cleanse him from secret faults (Ps 19:12).

Well, men, I am lost for words. I must ruminate on this topic and pray that the Spirit of Grace will reveal to you what my poor pen cannot explain. See you next time!

