Greetings to the Father, Angels and saints in Christ. I want to add another point as directed on the principle that says “DON’T THROW YOURSELF AT HIM – MEN ARE HUNTERS”. The reinforcement is that

it is  fruitless to pursue a man who does not want you – he will evade capture.

On Saturday I racked mind for a biblical example, then hey presto! I got the perfect example (poor thing). Remember her? Yes. Her name is Leah, daughter of Laban, sister of Rachel and unloved wife of Jacob. Well, he loved her sister Rachel and was tricked into marriage with Leah.

Her name, quite appropraitely, means weary. Gen 29 shows a period of polygamy, since Jacob had two wives. This was not really accepted by God, but only permitted because of the hardness of their hearts. The point is that Jacob loved Rachel more than Leah (Gen 29:30). Leah loved Jacob and longed for his love in return.

We see in Gen 29: 32 that Leah mistakenly thought that Jacob would love her after she bore his child Reuben.

This is an age old deception of women because women still do believe that they can trap men into some form of committment by becoming pregnant for him. The absolute truth is that a man can desire a woman sexually without loving her (don’t men buy sex?).

Sexual intercourse is not love! Listen and learn from Leah. Even though Jacob loved Rachel, he was sexually attracted to Leah. Tell me why he kept going to the marriage bed? No one was holding an axe over his head if he failed to do so. I just reread the scripture and it says that “he loved also Rachel more than Leah” (Gen 29: 30). This is some confused man.

During the course of their marriage, Leah bore four of Jacob’s sons:

  • Reuben (behold a son!)
  • Simeon (that is heard)
  • Levi (joined to) and
  • Judah (praised).

I would like to examine the thoughts in Leah’s hearts as these children were born in the hope of gleaning some truth about this principle. Her ideas of marital bliss ended abruptly the morning after the wedding night when Jacob flew into a rage after discovering that Leah and not Rachel had been given to him in marriage. This raises questions about the marriage customs of the day. Within a week, her sister was also her sister in law (does this sound like Maury?) and the love and attention she thought she would receive were all Rachel’s.

Can you imagine her jubilation at the birth of Reuben? She must have laughed and mocked her sister as she gloated “behold a son (NOW therefore my husband will love me!)” How mistaken she was. She sank into the depths of depression until she bore the second, who she called Simeon. She really meant, “the Lord is really hearing my prayer for my husband to love me”. she has not gotten the truth as yet. Ok, Jacob continues to go to bed with her for some reason that only he knows. She bears the third child, Levi, whose name really means that she thought that she and Jacob were joined together. We hear this misconception in her words, “now this time will my husband be joined unto me, because I have born him three sons.

Sez who? Get the point? You can bear a band wagon of children for that man and once there are sperm and ova, you can get pregnant. Once you have a willing body, he will go to bed with you. Sex will not buy his love. Leah left off bearing after she had Judah, whose name means praised. There is something that is not spoken here. Did she come to the full realization of the truth and cease giving her body to Jacob or did Jacob become tired of the charade?

We see that there was great family conflict between Rachel and Leah as a result of their marriage to Jacob. Rachel was infertile and tried to compete for Jacob’s attention by sending her maids to have children with him. They would become surrogate mothers. Sounds like a soap opera.  Basically Rachel and Leah did whatever they felt was right in their own eyes. After her maid had the second child with Jacob, Rachel said in Gen 30:8:

“with great wrestlings have I wrestled with my sister, and I have prevailed: and she called his name Naphtali”.

What was so important about having Jacob’s children?

Well, the prevailing belief was if you did, he would lavish more love on you as the children’s mother, spend more time with you and your children, give you all gifts etc.

The sisters even got to the place where they were selling Jacob to each other in exchange for his sexual favor. That is how Leah got back into bed with her husband and bore him three more children.

See the gory details in Gen 30: 14-21:

“and Reuben went in the days of wheat harvest, and found mandrakes in the field, and brought them unto his mother Leah.

Then Rachel said to Leah, Give me, I pray thee, of thy son’s mandrakes. And she said unto her, Is it a small matter that thou hast taken my husband? and wouldest thou take away my son’s mandrakes also?

And Rachel said, Therefore he shall lie with thee to night for thy son’s mandrakes.

And Jacob came out of the field in the evening, and Leah went out to meet him, and said, Thou must come in unto me; for surely I have hired thee with my son’s mandrakes. And he lay with her that night.

And God hearkened unto Leah, and she conceived, and bare Jacob the fifth son. And Leah said, God hath given me my hire, because I have given my maiden to my husband: and she called his name Issachar.

And Leah conceived again, and bare Jacob the sixth son. And Leah said, God hath endued me with a good dowry; now will my husband dwell with me, because I have born him six sons: and she called his name Zebulun.

And afterwards she bare a daughter, and called her name Dinah.”

This is the meat of the soap operas, the juicy stuff that keeps desperate women glued to their television sets. They were just as bad back then. What was so hot about mandrakes? Strong’s, in Blueletter bible.com, say that the mandrake was believed to be a love plant and possessed stimulating and narcotic properties. Was Rachel afraid that her sister would put a spell on Jacob and get him away from her? Did she feel that she needed to use the mandrakes herself? If this was the case, she must have been really desperate since she went to the extent of paying for them by allowing Leah to go to bed with Jacob. Did Leah secretly give the mandrakes to Jacob in a drink? Is that the reason he kept going back for a sexual high?

There seem to be more questions than answers, but please remember that I started with the principle that says “it is fruitless to pursue a man who does not want you – he will evade capture.”

Blessings.

