Greetings to the Father, Son, Spirit, angels and saints in Christ. In our last blog, I promised to continue on the topic of CONFIRMING TO THE CHILD HIS/HER DESTINY. God has already confirmed His word, since I heard one of the key elements of this blog at LFT on Thursday night in a prophetic message preached by Pastor Emmanuel Clay during the Quest for Fire Youth Conference. This was a night of deliverance for the youths and I am praying that God’s desire for these youths and children will be totally fulfilled this week.

The first content area I would therefore like to deal with is “TELL THE CHILD ABOUT HIS/HER DIVINE PURPOSE”. This was beautifully done in the Conference on Thursday night and is a very powerful strategy for impartation of divine purpose. Remember that I experienced this first hand as a result of my dear mother telling me early in life that I essentially belonged to the Lord. I will remind us that Prov 18: 21 says that “death and life are in the power of the tongue: and they that love it shall eat the fruit thereof.” The fruit of the tongue is the thing that you speak out of the mouth. It is incumbent upon the parent to speak destiny into the child, even when it seems like the situation is a valley of dry bones. This was Pastor Clay’s text. I will remind us about Jesus who was told by His Father about His divine purpose so that He was doing the will of His Father by the time He was age 12 (Lk2: 49). Prophecies abound regarding the life of the Lord. He was prophetically known as “a child…a son…” with the anointing to rule and His name was called “Wonderful, Counsellor, The mighty God, The everlasting Father, The Prince of Peace” (Isa 9: 14). Jesus’ example shows us that the child is going to head into purpose the earlier in life that eternal purpose is imparted to him or her. This scripture also reveals elements of His character. Can’t God reveal the character of the child before birth and can we not use this to produce in the child what he or she was designed to be. God told Prophet Jeremiah the following words early in life – “Before I formed thee in the belly I knew thee; and before thou camest forth out of the womb I sanctified thee, and I ordained thee a prophet unto the nations (Jer 1: 5). Jeremiah was overwhelmed and responded “Ah, Lord GOD! behold, I cannot speak: for I am a child (Jer 1:6). But the LORD said unto him, “Say not, I am a child: for thou shalt go to all that I shall send thee, and whatsoever I command thee thou shalt speak (Jer 1:7). I know just how Jeremiah felt. Like Samuel, God gave me a prophetic word at age 13 that exposed the sins of a leader. It was frightening. There was no way I could have known. I was a sheltered child and my mother was not into gossip. People were weeping and crying. I was so embarrassed that I did not go back to the meetings the following night. I learnt later in life that everything that God had said was true.

I really love the example of Samuel who was called and established as a prophet of God at a tender age. This evolved because his mother placed him a setting where he served or ministered to the Lord. Having asked for a child who could be given back to the Lord, I believe that she would have told him early in life the circumstances surrounding his birth and the reason why he lived in the temple and not with the rest of the family. He knew his destiny. I would like to know the exact words that Prophet Samuel told David when he anointed him as king of Israel (1 Sam 16). David appeared to have known about his destiny because in 2 Sam 2: 1, he asked the Lord for the timing of his anointing. When he went up to Judah, the men of Judah anointed him as King. He was acting on the prophetic word. I spoke previously about Timothy who was imparted with a ministerial call/charge and spiritual gifts when he was told about them by the prophetic ministry. As I wrote these words on 22nd May, I made declarations over the youths at LFT and in the nations that they would walk in the ways of the Lord, that they would hear the voice of the Lord, that they would be intercessors and worshippers. The Lord certainly confirmed His word that very night because that is exactly what Pastor Clay did with those youths at the altar. God wants us to speak life and destiny into our children and youths.

I just remembered that I have a note about David’s writings in Psalm 139: 14 -18 when he talks about the revelation that he had about his God given call and purpose from the womb – “I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvellous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well. My substance was not hid from thee, when I was made in secret, and curiously wrought in the lowest parts of the earth. Thine eyes did see my substance, yet being unperfect; and in thy book all my members were written, which in continuance were fashioned, when as yet there was none of them. How precious also are thy thoughts unto me, O God! how great is the sum of them! If I should count them, they are more in number than the sand: when I awake, I am still with thee.” These scriptures tell me that God has a divine plan for every human born on the face of the earth. Remember the teaching that we were in God and breathed out by Him (He is the Father of Spirits). Why would He breathe us out and waste us with ungodly lifestyles? He wants a human being that reflects His image and likeness, after the order in which He created the first man. This is the LAW OF FIRSTS which really means that God sets a pattern in the first things that He does. Can you remember the name of Isaiah’s son? Please look him up and see what God said about him before birth.

There is more to come. When I return, I will talk about how God set the pace by showing us how to help the child to over come cultural and social influences through the life of His own Son. Clues to follow here are the fact that Jesus was born in to a family of relatively low social status rather than in to the home of a nobleman or even a ruler of the synagogue. Jesus was also relatively poor rather than rich (compared to heaven’s standards). God did not want a son who was a brat or a hypocrite, so HE had to make some adjustments. I also hope to talk about how we can teach the child using symbols, as laid out in the scripture. God was the very first learning theorist! Blessings.

