The Lord asked me to explain the basis for Paul’s statement that the Apostle is the one qualified in the church to bring forth  “revelation… knowledge … prophesying…or doctrine in the church“  (1 Cor 14: 6).

I have written in great detail on the ministry of the Apostle, showing that this Elder is a seasoned minister who is also an expert Teacher, Prophet, Evangelist and Pastor. Apostles Jesus, the twelve Apostles and Paul are prime examples in the New Testament.  However, I thought that it was necessary to explain further why the Apostle Paul could make such an apparently outrageous claim.

Here are supporting scriptures:

1. In 1 Corinthians 12: 28, Paul told the believers that God ordained, placed or established these particular ministries in the church:

God …set  (tithemi/G5087)   some in the church, first apostles, secondarily prophets, thirdly teachers, after that miracles, then gifts of healings, helps, governments, diversities of tongues.”

I did a word search on blue letter bible.com for the words “Set”  (tithemi/G5087) in order to fully understand the verse fully.  Its biblical usage means to be placed, to be established, to be ordained.

The usage teaches us that the ministries of Apostle, Prophet, Teacher and others are appointed by God for His Divine purpose:

  •  “But now hath God set the members every one of them in the body, as it hath pleased him”  (1 Cor 12: 18).
  •  “The LORD said unto my Lord, Sit thou on my right hand, till I make (tithemi) thine enemies thy footstool?  (Matthew 22: 24).
  •  “For so hath the Lord commanded us, [saying], I have set (tithemi) thee to be a light of the Gentiles, that thou shouldest be for salvation unto the ends of the earth” (Acts 13: 47).
  •  “For other foundation can no man lay than that is laid (tithemi), which is Jesus Christ” (1 Cor 3: 11).
  • “Whereunto I am ordained (Tithemi) a preacher, and an apostle, (I speak the truth in Christ, [and] lie not 😉 a teacher of the Gentiles in faith and verity” (1 Tim 2: 7). 
  • “Whereunto I am appointed (Tithemi) a preacher, and an apostle, and a teacher of the Gentiles (2 Tim 1:11). 
  • “God who at sundry times and in divers manners spake in time past unto the fathers by the prophets, Hath in these last days spoken unto us by [his] Son, whom he hath appointed (tithemi) heir of all things, by whom also he made the worlds”  (Heb 1: 1,2).- 

 

 2. Paul referred to his appointment/ Tithemi as  an Apostle in his writings:

  • “Whereunto I am ordained (Tithemi) a preacher, and an apostle, (I speak the truth in Christ, [and] lie not 😉 a teacher of the Gentiles in faith and verity” (1 Tim 2: 7)
  • “Whereunto I am appointed (Tithemi) a preacher, and an apostle, and a teacher of the Gentiles (2 Tim 1:11) 
  • Am I not an apostle? am I not free? have I not seen Jesus Christ our Lord? are not ye my work in the Lord?
  • If I be not an apostle unto others, yet doubtless I am to you: for the seal of mine apostleship are ye in the Lord (1 Cor 9: 1 & 2)
  • For I am the least of the apostles, that am not meet to be called an apostle, because I persecuted the church of God.
  • And last of all he was seen of me also, as of one born out of due time (1 Cor 15: 7 & 8)

I will explore the use of the word first in the upcoming post.  Blessings and have a great day!

 

