I ended the last  post by exclaiming that I had been absolutely amazed to discover that God had appeared live to Samuel – The Lord came and stood there, calling as at the other times, “Samuel! Samuel!” (1 Sam 3: 10).  God bypassed the established religious order of the day because of sin. He still does this today, looking for people who will truly follow His ways. Samuel was still a child when God spoke with him. He was ministering in the temple to God and not dancing in a carnival band or involved in other activities that took him away from the presence of God. Parents need to keep their children in His presence so that He could reveal Himself to them.

With Samuel’s obedience and openness to God, there was a restoration of the prophetic word and open visions in Israel.  According to 1 Samuel 3: 20, 21, God began to speak again to Israel through the Samuel, who became established as a Prophet of God. Even more importantly, the Lord revealed or showed Himself again in the temple, because He appeared continuously to Samuel. This is truly living in the presence of God:

And all Israel from Dan even to Beersheba knew that Samuel [was] established [to be] a prophet of the LORD.

And the LORD appeared again in Shiloh: for the LORD revealed himself to Samuel in Shiloh by the word of the LORD.

We need to pay attention, however, to the warning found in the chapter. Eli the High Priest and his two sons were carrying on daily temple “worship”, but God did not accept their sacrifices and had stopped speaking to them. This is a sad state of affairs in many places of worship. The leaders are decorated with the finest and go through the rituals, but God is not pleased with them. In fact, He has spoken judgement.

God is looking for children and adults to whom He could reveal His precious word.  It is such a precious and wonderful thing to be in His favor. I shared with my mother recently that I had seen the Lord first at about age 13. I was curled up in bed reading as usual and heard my name being called – “Mercedes, Mercedes”.  I also felt the presence of someone in the room. I ran to my father who was in the next room and asked if he had called me. Of course, he replied that he had not done so.

I went back to reading and looked up, because I felt someone in the room. I saw a pair of feet (from below knee) and they were covered with folded white robes like the kind the Jews wore in bible times. I also saw another pair of feet. These were uncovered and they were light brown and wearing sandals. That vision lasted for about 30 seconds then they disappeared.

I wonder how Samuel felt that day when the Lord first appeared to him. I know for sure that I did not really pay attention to that vision. I was not even afraid. It is a wonderful thing to be a friend of God and to see and hear Him. One moves into a different dimension of relationship. There is a  continuous conversation with God. He speaks at all times of the day and is truly a friend.

I long for the day when the Body of Christ comes into this fullness because the walk with God becomes more real. May God bless you as you seek His heart.

