1. INTRODUCTION

The  words captioned were spoken into my spirit about two months ago, and I have been meditating on them since then.  The text is found in St John 1: 6:

There was a man sent from God, whose name was John

I had bypassed these words all of my life until the Lord showed me that they were very significant and related to several key factors:

  1. we came from God
  2. we were sent into the earth to fulfill God’s purpose
  3. What was John’s purpose? John 1: 7 says that he “came for a witness, to bear witness of the Light, that all [men] through him might believe.”

2. MEANING OF THE VERB SENT

Freedictionary.com says that the word sent is the “past tense and past participle of send1.”   Both the past tense and past participle of a verb express “past or completed action or time” (http://www.thefreedictionary.com).  When he wrote those words, Apostle John was therefore  writing about a completed event (remember that John was beheaded while Jesus was still alive).  However, we must pay attention to the fact that the writer of John’s gospel used the  verb sent and not another verb such as came or. He showed clearly that  John was foreknown and that God had an advance plan for his sujourn on earth.  Send has several meanings including  “to cause (a person or thing) to go or be taken or transmitted to another place”.  When applied to the context, John, whose spirit  came from God, was sent to earth on a mission and this was to be a witness about Jesus.  We know that he fulfilled his task fully.

3. PROOF IN THE CIRCUMSTANCES OF JOHN’S BIRTH

The miraculous events of John’s birth are found in Luke 1.   I will itemize for emphasis:

  • His parents had no control over his birth because they were barren.  Like Sarah, his mother became pregnant in her old age and hid herself as a result.
  • His father was Priest Zecharias, a Levite and his mother Elizabeth also came from that tribe of Israel. 
  • Chief Prince Gabriel appeared to Zecharias at the time that he was ministering in the temple and gave full details about the child. God knew all about him. He was sent with attention paid to every detail of his life and purpose- he would be a son called John; he would bring joy to his parents and to many others; he would be a Nazarite;  he would be a preacher who would turn the Jews back to God and he would be filled with the Holy Spirit from the womb.
  • God also orchestrated the birth of John with the birth of Jesus. Chief Prince Gabriel also appeared to Elizabeth’s cousin Mary, announcing the birth of Jesus and that of John. Mary visited her cousin Elizabeth and the baby John leaped in her womb when he heard her message (LK 1: 41). His spirit had recognized the importance of the meeting.
  • John had to wait on the timing of his mission before he was revealed to Israel. Lk 1: 80 says that he “grew, and waxed strong in spirit, and was in the deserts till the day of his shewing unto Israel.”

4. SCRIPTURES WITH SIMILAR MEANINGS

I have taught previously that we are spirit beings who were in God and sent to earth to fulfill purpose. John’s life so clearly exemplifies this. Here are a few scriptures that add weight to this truth:

And in the sixth month the angel Gabriel was sent from Godunto a city of Galilee, named Nazareth (Lk 1: 26)

Jesus said unto them, If God were your Father, ye would love me: for I proceeded forth and came from God; neither came I of myself, but he sentme (Jn 8: 42)

you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.

I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful,  I know that full well.

My frame was not hidden from you, when I was made in the secret place. When I was woven together in the depths of the earth,

your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me were written in your book  before one of them came to be  (Ps 139: 13-16).

Then the word of the LORD came unto me, saying,

Before I formed thee in the belly I knew thee; and before thou camest forth out of the womb I sanctified thee, [and] I ordained thee a prophet unto the nations (Jeremiah 1: 4 and 5).

5. WHAT ABOUT ME AND YOU?

The answer to this is extensive and I will therefore refer you to previous writings. All I can say now is that we are no different from John the Baptist. We are foreknown by God. I can tell you that when you were in God you  may have spoken about your purpose and knew it fully. Are you now living to fulfill His purpose or living like a sheep gone astray from God? 

Please click on the link “THE REASON YOU WERE BORN”.  You will find it under the title CATEGORIES to the right of this post.

Blessings. I will soon continue on the previous topic. Have a great day!

