I dealt with the issue of Jesus living in a body of flesh in the previous post. This time, however, I would like to emphasize that He was Holy Spirit, Holy God dwelling in flesh.  What? Jesus is Holy Spirit? Yes He is indeed.  What or who else can He be?

Here are a few ways in which the Bible teaches  the truth that Jesus is Holy Spirit:

  1. He  is  God and God is holy.  Isaiah was told that He is the Mighty God, Everlasting Father 
  2. He was in the beginning – the Word who was God and with God
  3. Chief Prince Gabriel told Mary that Jesus was the holy thing that would grow in her  womb
  4. Scriptures teach that He was tempted by sin but remained sinless
  5. In John 10: 8-10, Jesus held a very interesting discussion related to Phillip’s question as to who was the Father?  Jesus answered Phillip in a mystery and  I had missed the answer for years:

Philip saith unto him, Lord, shew us the Father, and it sufficeth us.

Jesus saith unto him, Have I been so long time with you, and yet hast thou not known me, Philip?he that hath seen me hath seen the Father; and how sayest thou [then], Shew us the Father?

Believest thou not that I am in the Father, and the Father in me? the words that I speak unto you I speak not of myself: but the Father that dwelleth in me, he doeth the works

Believe me that I [am] in the Father, and the Father in me: or else believe me for the very works’ sake (John 14: 8-11).

Jesus’ response to Phillip was three  fold:

a. Phillip, how can you ask that question when I  (Jesus with the name and role Father) have been with you all this time?

b. When He told Phillip, “I am in  the Father, and the Father in me?” He really meant that His Spirit, living in His body, was the Spirit of the Father.

c. Each member of the  God family is called Father – originator of all things. 

d. There is absolutely no confusion in Jesus addressing  the other members of the God family as  Father. This is one name by which they are known.

Current Christian teaching holds that only one member  of the God Family is called the Holy Spirit. However, Jesus  referred to Himself as the Holy Spirit:

 And I will pray the Father, and he shall give you another Comforter, that he may abide with you for ever

Even] the Spirit of truth; whom the world cannot receive, because it seeth him not, neither knoweth him: but ye know him; for he dwelleth with you, and shall be in you.

I will not leave you comfortless: I will come to you (Jn 14: 16-18).

Again, Jesus taught that He was Holy Spirit in a mystery:

a.  By referring to Another Comforter, we clearly understand that when Jesus was on earth, He was God the Holy Spirit present with the disciples.

b.  In fact, Jesus told the disciples that they knew the Comforter, who is also called  Spirit of truth and that He dwelled with them (JN 14: 17). 

c. In Jn 14: 18,  Jesus then told the disciples  He would return again in Spirit as the comforter,  even though He was  leaving earth adn would not be physically present.

I  would like to emphasize that the key to clearing up the confusion is to understand:

  • there is one God family, Creator of all things
  • there are three people who make up the family called God
  • the members of the  God family are ONE because they agree in purpose
  • they are One because they are equally the same in spirit.
  • any name that is ascribed to one is ascribed to all (except that Jesus was designated as the One who would be born in the earth as  a Child and live and die to reconcile us to God)

Why is it important for us to believe that Jesus was Holy Spirit living in flesh? We will not receive eternal life if we do not believe.  His fascinating discourse in John 3 is key in the message of salvation. Jesus said that He had come down from heaven and spoke to us  about heavenly things  (Jn  3: 12, 13).  Salvation is a mystery of the Kingdom of heaven.  The question is whether or not we will believe Jesus God and be saved.

I hope you will believe. Blessings and have a great day!

https://pppministries.wordpress.com/2008/10/07/jesus-in-the-old-testament/

https://pppministries.wordpress.com/2008/09/29/jesus-is-the-holy-spirit/

