1. God awoke me and gave  me FOUR KEYS how to teach a child or believer to worship

It was Friday 10th September at 3.50am.  I was awake listening to the angels harmonize the song “He saw the best in me”.  As they sang new harmonies with many parts, I sang along in my spirit, wondering where I would hear such melodies in the earth.

I then heard the Lord telling me to get up and read Psalm 107:

O give thanks unto the LORD, for he is good: for his mercy endureth for ever.

Let the redeemed of the LORD say so, whom he hath redeemed from the hand of the enemy;

I paused and began to say, ” O give thanks unto the LORD, for he is good: for his mercy endureth for ever.” I then heard the Lord say to me, “this is the way to teach a child or believer to worship”

2. Teach a child or believer to worship by collective reading and reinforcement of the Word of God

The Lord then told me that collective reading of the Word reinforces it in the memory. This includes reading the Word aloud. As I listened to His instruction, my mind flashed back to “Nine Lessons and Carols,” a yearly Christmas Service held by the St. Vincent and the Grenadines Girls High School.  Each year we would have a service in which students collectively read scriptures and sang carols.  For some reason, the lower forms always had the introductory verses of Luke 2. To this day I can still quote most of the text read during the service.

Even as I write, I remember that as a child, Psalm 121 was a text that was said almost daily during prayers while I was a student at Kingstown Government School. That psalm is forever embedded in my mind. As I walked with God, I began to receive new revelation about the true meaning of those verses.  For example, regarding the meaning of  “the Lord is my shade upon my right hand”.

It seems ironic to me that I learnt large texts of scriptures at school and not at church. Why is this so? The church should specialize in teaching the scriptures in bulk.  So back to the revelation.

3. Help the child or believer enter into worship by reading and doing what the Word says

My spirit was lifted as I listened to the Lord’s instructions. I put the blanket over my head like a prayer shawl and began to obey the Word. Psalm 107: 2 instructed me to “say so”.  I began to repeat different versions of the text,   deliberately became more personal in my thanks giving, wanting to draw even closer to God:

“O give thanks to the Lord, for He is good and His mercy endureth for ever.”

“Lord I say you are good and your mercy endures forever”

“Father God, I give you thanks because you are good and your mercy endures forever”

“Father I say that you are good. I give you thanks because your mercy endures forever”

“Father I give you thanks for you are good and because you delivered me from the enemy”


3.  Teach the child or believer recollect the past goodness of God and praise Him for His goodness

It is absolutely necessary to speak about the goodness of God.  Psalm 107 was written as a reminder of the history of the nation of Israel and God’s delivering hand:

  • He delivered them from the hand of the enemy
  • He  gathered them out of the lands
  • They wandered in the wilderness
  • They cried unto God in their trouble and He delivered them
  • He led them forth by the right way to a city where they would live
  • He was good and did wonderful works to them
  • He satisfies the longing soul and fills the hungry with goodness
  • He brought them out of darkness and the shadow of death and broke their bands
  • He sent His word and healed them and  delivered them from  destruction

The writer of the memorial continued to praise God by carefully recounting the goodness of God to the nation. A Jew reading the text would be jumping and shouting, clapping and dancing in recollection of the goodness of God. What about the believer saved by the blood of Jesus?

4. My mother built faith in me by telling me about the goodness of God as early as age eight

One of my earliest childhood memories is of  my mother telling me about the miracles and goodness of the Lord.  I must have been about eight years when she began  to do so and I would sit quietly and listen. Those praises to God remain embedded in my mind to this day and built a deep and enduring faith in me.  They also provided me with a paper trail of her life and it is amazing to see how God lifts up the poor.

The seeds of faith that my mother planted in me have remained through the years. Her example is in obedience to Psalm 107: 1 & 2.  Do this with your child or believers (especially new ones) and allow God to deposit the seed of faith in their spirits.

5. Where have the testimony services or the “say so” services gone to?

Sharing testimonies as a nation, family or church is important in the “say so” of the goodness of God. Remembrances or testimonies could be integrated into services or done as separate, exciting services.  Many years ago the Lord told me to celebrate His goodness by decorating the church building with balloons and streamers. It was unusual, but we did so one Sunday morning and had people share their testimonies during the service.

Testimomy or ‘say so” services could be as creative as we could make them and could include:

  • Short videos about people’s miracles
  • Poems about personal deliverance
  • New songs of deliverance
  • Short biographies
  • Autobiographies
  • Age related – students and children have testimonies too
  • To name a few

Most of all, remember that the collective and vocal reading of the scriptures is the foundation for worship. What other text accurately supplies the child or believer with information about the God we worship?

6.  Summary:
FIVE  KEYS for teaching a child or believer to worship are:

  • Teach the child by example to recollect the past goodness of God and praise Him for His goodness
  • Help the child or believer enter into worship by reading and doing what the Word says
  • Teach the child or believer recollect the past goodness of God and praise Him for His goodness
  • Talk with the child about the goodness of God in your life
  • Hold testimony services or events in church services

Until, God bless and give you wisdom, peace, faith and joy as you abide in His Word.

