We began to explore the meaning and usage of  “favour or grace in the New Testament scriptures through the root word charis (H5463):

The angel came in unto her and said, Hail, thou that art highly favoured  (Charitoō/G5487), the Lord is with thee: blessed art thou among women – Luke 1: 26.

To the praise of the glory of his grace, wherein he hath made (Charitoō/G5487) us accepted (Charitoō/G5487) in the  beloved   (agapaō/G25) – Eph 1: 6.

This is what I discovered today:

1. We need the favour of God to do the work of the ministry 

But by the grace of God I am what I am, and His grace toward me was not in vain; but I labored more abundantly than they all, yet not I, but the grace of God which was with me – 1 Corinthians 15: 10.

and when James, Cephas, and John, who seemed to be pillars, perceived the grace (charis/H5463) that had been given to me, they gave me and Barnabas the right hand of fellowship, that we should go to the Gentiles and they to the circumcised – Gal 2: 9.

2. When we demonstrate acts of liberality to others, we are expressing  favour

When I come, I will write letters of recommendation for the messengers you choose to deliver your gift (charis/H5463) to Jerusalem – 1 Cor 16: 3.

3. It is because of the favour of God that we triumph over satan

But thanks (charis/H5463) be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ – 1  Cor 15: 57.

Now thanks (charis/H5463) be to God who always leads us in triumph in Christ, and through us diffuses the fragrance of His knowledge in every place –   2 Cor 2: 14.

4. Jesus showed us favour when He came into the world to save us.

For you know the grace  (charis/H5463)  of our Lord Jesus Christ, that though He was rich, yet for your sakes He became poor, that you through His poverty might become rich – 2 Cor 8: 9.

5. God causes favour to be shown to His saints

And God [is] able to make all grace  (charis/H5463) abound toward you; that ye, always having all sufficiency in all [things], may abound to every good work – 2 Cor 9: 8.

6. The favour of God gives the believer strength and power to endure afflictions

And He said to me, “My grace (charis/H5463)  is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me – 2 Cor 12: 9.

7. It is by the favour of God that we are justified by faith and not works of the law

  For if you are trying to make yourselves right with God by keeping the law, you have been cut off from Christ! You have fallen away from God’s grace (charis/H5463) – Gal 5: 4.

8. God reveals His favour by accepting those who believe as His beloved children

to the praise of the glory of His grace (charis/H5463), by which He made us accepted in the Beloved – Eph 1: 6.

Amazing grace by Soweto Gospel Choir.  More to come. Peace, blessings and angelic prosperity. 

