I’ve written about the Year of Release or Shĕmittah but can’t find that post right now, so I thought I would do a review at blueletterbible.com instead. I discovered that shamat  (H8058) is the root word for Shĕmittah. 
Found in only 9 times in 8 verses in the Hebrew concordance of the KJV, shamat is used to mean:

REST

1But the seventh year thou shalt let it rest H8058 and lie still; that the poor of thy people may eat: and what they leave the beasts of the field shall eat. In like manner thou shalt deal with thy vineyard, and with thy oliveyard – Exodus 23: 11.

RELEASE

And this is the manner of the release: Every creditor that lendeth ought unto his neighbour shall release H8058 it; he shall not exact it of his neighbour, or of his brother; because it is called the Lord‘s release.

Of a foreigner thou mayest exact it again: but that which is thine with thy brother thine hand shall release H8058   (Deuteronomy 15: 2 & 3)

At the end of every seven years you must forgive people what they owe you.

Have you made a loan to one of your own people? Then forgive what is owed to you. You can’t require that person to pay you back. The Lord’s time to forgive what is owed has been announced.

You can require someone from another nation to pay you back. But you must forgive what any of your own people owes you (NIV).

However, the meaning in the other cross matches in which shamat  that confirms that destruction can occur instead of blessing if the Year of Release is not observed. We know that this is the reason that Israel went into Babylonian captivity, particularly under the rule of King Zedekiah.

The Year of Release is symbolic of Christ forgiving our debt of sins when we believe in His sacrificial offering.

SHAMAT IS USED TO MEAN SHOOK, THROW DOWN, OVERTHROWN AND DISCONTINUE.

The context in which these words are use show that severe judgment came on disobedient people:

And when they came to Nachon’s threshingfloor, Uzzah put forth his hand to the ark of God, and took hold of it; for the oxen shook H8058 it – 2 Samuel 6: 6

And when they came unto the threshingfloor of Chidon, Uzza put forth his hand to hold the ark; for the oxen stumbled H8058 – 1 Chronicles 13: 9.

And he said, Throw her down. H8058 So they threw her down: H8058 : and some of her blood was sprinkled on the wall, and on the horses: and he trode her under foot. – 2 Kings 9: 33.

When their judges are overthrown H8058 in stony places, they shall hear my words; for they are sweet – Psalm 141: 6.

And thou, even thyself, shalt discontinue H8058 from thine heritage that I gave thee; and I will cause thee to serve thine enemies in the land which thou knowest not: for ye have kindled a fire in mine anger, which shall burn for ever – Jeremiah 17: 4.

Zedekiah King of Judah refused to release the people in the shĕmittah or Year of Release and refused to do right. God judged him according to the Word of the Prophet Jeremiah.

I exhort you to choose life and not death. Those who receive Lord Jesus as Savior will be saved or released from sin and death, but eternal judgment will come on those who refuse. Please pray this prayer to receive Him as Lord and Savior:

Lord Jesus, I confess that you are the Savior of the World and I believe in my heart that God raised you from the dead and I am saved.  I confess my sins and ask for cleansing by the blood that you shed on the Cross of Calvary.

I renounce my sins and turn away from them now. I praise and thank you for making me a child and receive salvation by faith in your name. Thank you Jesus, Amen.

